
 
 
 
 

 
Buy-In Waiver Extension Approved for Disaster Assistance Programs 

 
 Honolulu, Hawaii, March 19, 2009 – Steve Peterson, Acting State Executive Director of 
USDA’s Farm Service Agency in Hawaii announced today that producers who did not obtain 
crop insurance or Non-insured Crop Disaster Assistance Program (NAP) coverage for 2008 can 
pay a buy-in fee through May 18, 2009, to become eligible for 2008 disaster assistance programs 
authorized by the Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008.   
 
 "Producers have an additional opportunity to become eligible for several programs if they 
suffered 2008 agricultural losses due to natural disaster," said Peterson. 
 
 Producers who have not already taken the necessary steps to become eligible for the 
Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program (SURE), Emergency Assistance for Livestock, 
Honeybees, and Farm-Raised Fish (ELAP), and the Tree Assistance Program (TAP) are required 
to complete the following steps by May 18, 2009: 
 

 Pay a $100 “buy-in” fee per crop.  The maximum fee is $300 per county, per producer, 
not to exceed $900 for multi-county producers. 

 
 In the case of each insurable crop, excluding grazing land, agree to obtain a policy or 

plan of insurance for the next insurance year for which crop insurance is available; 
coverage level should equal 70 percent or more of the yield at 100 percent of the price. 

 
 In the case of each noninsurable crop, agree to file the required paperwork and pay the 

applicable administrative NAP coverage fee by the applicable state application closing 
date for the next available year. 

 
 Producers who choose to “buy in” under this provision will be considered, for insured 
crops, to have obtained a policy or plan of insurance for the 2008 crop year at a level of coverage 
not to exceed 70 percent of the yield at 100 percent of the price.  For noninsurable crops, 
producers will be considered to have a level of coverage equal to 70 percent of the yield.  These 
levels of coverage will be used to calculate the 2008 SURE guarantee. 
 
 Producers who meet the definition of "Socially Disadvantaged, Limited Resource," or 
"Beginning Farmer or Rancher," are not required to pay the buy-in fee.  
 
A contact list is set forth below: 
 

COUNTY PHONE FAX EMAIL 
Hawaii (808) 933-8341 (808) 933-8345 lester.ueda@hi.usda.gov 
Honolulu (808) 483-8600 (808) 483-8615 jason.shitanishi@hi.usda.gov 
Kauai (808) 245-9014 (808) 246-4639 robert.ishikawa@hi.usda.gov 
Maui (808) 871-5500 (808) 873-6183 james.robello@hi.usda.gov 

 

 
 
 


